The East Office of Finnish Industries held its Annual General Meeting on May 4th. The AGM was followed by a meeting with the President of Finland Sauli Niinistö, who provided a thought-provoking perspective on the pressing issues of the day during his address.

This year’s AGM was a pivotal moment for East Office as the term of the shareholders’ agreement, which was in force when Russia invaded Ukraine, came to an end and the composition of the Board of Directors underwent significant changes. The new strategy, which was approved by the board in November, has been put into action during the spring, and East Office begins its new two-year term united and well-positioned to pursue its mission.

Ilkka Salonen will continue as Chairman of the Board, and Topi Paananen, the CEO of Peikko, was elected as the new Vice Chairman of the Board. The AGM also welcomed two new members, A-insinöörit and Lehto, to the community.

The Working Committee of the Board of Directors, which plays a central role in the governance of East Office, also underwent significant changes. Teo Ottola (Konecranes), Mikko Pasanen (Aspo), Markku Teräsvasara (Metso), and Meri Vainikka (Tikkurila) joined as new members, while Rolf Jansson (Aspo), Klaus Cawen (Kone), Annikka Hurme (Valio), and Jukka Moisio (Nokian Tyres) chose to step down. Markus Rauramo (Fortum) remained in his position, ensuring continuity in the Committee.

Ilkka Salonen, Chairman of the Board: On behalf of East Office, I would like to express my deep gratitude to departing members for always being there for East Office when needed. Their unwavering support throughout the exceptional year of 2022 will be remembered. For new members, most of whom have been part of our community for years, a warm welcome. I would also like to congratulate Topi Paananen, our new Vice Chairman of the Board. Topi has been part of the working committee in previous years, and his insights will undoubtedly be helpful for all the shareholders of EO going forward.